Author Topic: Putting it back together???  (Read 3543 times)

Offline Michigunner

• Grand Master
Re: Putting it back together???
« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2006, 10:08:37 PM »
Right on, twostar.

Well, you know, I have read where other folks called the Magsafe rounds "devastating".

They seem to be rather highly regarded.

I'm going to carry each bunch for maybe six months, and then fill up with new ones.

I was glad to see that you like them, too.

Bill

Offline sslater

• Master
« Reply #16 on: January 16, 2006, 10:49:21 PM »
JYogi:
I've been using skateboard tape on my R9S for several months now with absolutely no issues.  The gun can't hang up while drawing.  Don't see how it could, really.  Tape on the front- and backstraps will be covered by your hand when you "grab onto the handle".  Ditto for the sides of the grip - though I don't use any tape on the sides.

I have strong hands, but the gun is small and tends to get slippery from the lubricants used on the innards.

Some day after my gun gets beat up-looking from daily carry I'll send it off to Robar for stippling and refinishing with their NP3 or Rogard finish.  I wish Rohrbaugh offered stippling or checkering as an option.

Offline R9SCarry

• Grand Master
  • Aut viam inveniam aut faciam
« Reply #17 on: January 16, 2006, 11:00:53 PM »
Steve - I do think one day they will offer stippling/chequering - but for short term future it is all about guns out the door I think! :)
Chris - R9S
Guns don't kill people - people kill people.
R9 FAQ Site
NRA Life member and Certified Instructor.

Offline sslater

• Master
« Reply #18 on: January 16, 2006, 11:40:35 PM »
Twostar & Michigunner,
I don't want to get into a big argument about which round is the best for self defense carry, but the Glaser & Magsafe ammo is not well regarded by the FBI, Dr. Martin Fackler, or Duncan MacPherson.

The FBI study I'm referring to is:

Firearms Tactical Institute