Author Topic: Grip screws......why don't mine loosen?  (Read 9617 times)

Offline Jack_F

• Grand Master
Grip screws......why don't mine loosen?
« on: May 20, 2012, 11:10:23 AM »
I was cleaning one of my R9's this moring and thinking about forum posts on screws. I have been shooting a R9 for eight years. My screws never come loose. Why not? ??? What am I doing different? So many post problems keeping their screws tight. The only thing I can think of is that I learned years ago mounting rifle scopes is that you should degrease the screw and screw holes for proper torque. I clean the screw holes using a pipe cleaner with gun scrubber  on it and spray and wipe the screws. I use that procedure on my 1911's and other guns. Maybe someone else could try that and post their results. :)
NRA Life Member
NRA Certified instructor: Pistol,Rifle,Shotgun ,Muzzleloading-Pistol-Rifle-Shotgun,Personal Protection In The Home, Personal Protection Outside The home,Home Firearm Safety

Offline Reinz

• Grand Master
Re: Grip screws......why don't mine loosen?
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2012, 04:03:45 PM »
Simple solution for a pesky problem.

I will try that next time, after I clean the nail polish off and out.

Thanks Jack!
NRA- LIFE  TSRA- LIFE  SASS-LIFE

Offline Robar233

• Master
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2012, 07:16:56 PM »
Jack,

That is a very cool tip that makes a lot of sense. I have not heard it but will try it.

Thanks,

Robar233

Offline backupr9

• Grand Master
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2012, 07:41:45 PM »
Ergo propter hoc...but it makes sense after repetitive success without other apparent variable.  I, too,will try this.  Thanks for posting!
"Those who would sacrifice a little freedom for a little order, will lose both, and deserve neither." 
Thomas Jefferson

Endur Fortis

Offline tracker

• Grand Master
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2012, 01:36:58 PM »