Author Topic: R-40 and R-45???  (Read 6849 times)

Offline flyandscuba

• Master
  • Ivan, Dennis, and Katrina - enough is enough!
R-40 and R-45???
« on: May 21, 2004, 08:10:38 PM »
I've heard rumors of plans to introduce a .40 S&W and .45 (GAP or ACP?) variant in the future.  Any truth to this?? :o
I'm not a gun expert -- but I did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night...

Offline GeorgeH

• Master
Re: R-40 and R-45???
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2004, 11:33:19 PM »
When the original concept was introduced at the SHOT show 2 or 3 years ago, the gun--only a mock-up existed--the concept was for a striker based pistol. The gun evolved over time. At that time, some preliminary thought was given to other calibers in the future. So I suspect, that if the R9 takes off, and some profit starts rolling in, I have no doubt that other calibers or models will be developed.

Offline DDGator

• Forum Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Grand Master
    • The Rohrbaugh Forum
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2004, 02:08:09 PM »
For what is worth, Rohrbaugh is already working on (maybe finished) a .380 version.  I know that seems odd -- its the same size as the 9mm -- but its really designed for export.  Apparently you can't import a "military caliber" like 9mm to most European countries.

Duane (DDGator)
Rohrbaugh Forum Administrator
E-mail: Admin-at-RohrbaughForum.com

Offline flyandscuba

• Master
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2004, 02:37:25 PM »
Yep, that's why Kel-tec even has a P-11 in .380 caliber for export -- as does Glock (Model 25 & 28).  Another option would have been to chamber it in 9x21mm instead of 9x19mm.  Ballistics are basically the same, just a slightly longer case so the ammo isn't interchangable.

Offline musician

• Sharpshooter
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2004, 08:58:07 AM »