Author Topic: Grease baseplates?  (Read 2259 times)

Offline Aglifter

• Grand Master
  • Thanks and Gig 'em
Grease baseplates?
« on: June 18, 2006, 05:57:26 PM »
Any thoughts on greasing the baseplates?  I have some slide glide that should stay put -- and probably keep water out pretty well.
And for the support of this Declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes and our sacred Honor.

Offline sslater

• Master
Re: Grease baseplates?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2006, 07:09:11 PM »
Aglifter,
I know your guns live in a hostile environment, but grease anywhere in a magazine system is pretty risky to primers.
Slide Glide is a great product which I use on other guns, but never in the mags.

How about trying EEZOX?  Someone posted a picture of corrosion test specimens treated with all of the popular gun lubes / rust preventatives.  EEZOX was clearly the winner.  I've been using it for at least 15 years.  It's not easy to find in gun shops, but you can buy directly from the manufacturer at  http://www.eezox.com/index.htm  

Steve

Offline sslater

• Master
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2006, 09:37:35 PM »
I forgot to mention:  Larry Seecamp uses (and recommends)  EEZOX on his pocket pistols.  There was some chatter in the Seecamp forum about EEZOX being a superior anti-rust product, but not the best for lubrication properties.  I don't know where that came from because my personal experience is the stuff lubricates AND protects very well.  The container says, "Premium Gun Care  The Triple Action Solution  Solvent  Lubricant  Rust Preventative"  Sort of like a decathlon champion.  I keep sn aerosol can in my range bag.

Steve

Offline Aglifter

• Grand Master
  • Thanks and Gig 'em
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2006, 02:47:24 AM »