Author Topic: MountainMan's Black Powder Beattie Collection  (Read 6610 times)

Offline MountainMan

• Grand Master
  • MountainMan Dave
MountainMan's Black Powder Beattie Collection
« on: January 22, 2006, 07:29:51 PM »

FEEL FREE TO POST AND DISCUSS ANYTHING BLACK POWDER - OR THE MEN OF OLD (MOUNTAIN MEN AND ETC.) WHO USED THOSE GUNS ON THIS THREAD

Carl Beattie was my wife Nancy's father who passed in 1992.  He was handicapped and a self taught black powder gun maker.  Carl belonged to a club, The Pennsylvania Long Rifles, where there were members with specialties that helped each other.  Their meetings were held in a log cabin from the 1700s that they took apart and rebuilt on their site.

Guns hand made down to the screws.

I have 13 of Carl Beattie's hand made black powder guns.  I'll post them on this thread every once in a while starting with the traditional styles first.

One of Carl's pistols he made for a friend won a national competition.

Number 1 of 13 (he gave it to me as a gift after I married his daughter)

Carl made the case, gun (.40 caliber), knife, horns, balls.

Lock was hand made by a mountain hermite named Sutter.

« Last Edit: January 23, 2006, 01:16:51 AM by MountainMan »
"Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but the moments that take our breath away..."

Offline theirishguard

• Grand Master
  • In Memoriam: 1941 to 2013
    • irishguardfirearmsltd.com
Re: MountainMan's Black Powder Beattie Collection
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2006, 08:38:12 PM »
Dave, that gun is great, you must be proud to own it and others.
Tom
Tom Watson, DVC , Quis Separabit ,  Who dares wins, Utrinque Paratus

Offline Michigunner

• Grand Master
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2006, 08:57:43 PM »
Very beautiful.  Thank you, Dave.

Offline R9SCarry

• Grand Master
  • Aut viam inveniam aut faciam
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2006, 10:14:06 PM »
[size=24]OMG!!![/size]