Author Topic: Strange question for ya'll  (Read 1556 times)

Offline KiowaScout

Strange question for ya'll
« on: May 02, 2008, 11:18:10 AM »
First off, I'm new to the forum, so hello and I'd like to compliment ya'll on a nicely run and friendly environment- I didn't hesitate to register at all!  I'm new to these weapons, and have recently been on a CCW quest as I am new to these small and specialized pistols.
Here's my odd question: How does this pistol do in very hot temperatures with dust and sand buildup?  Is it a finicky-gotta-keep-squeaky-clean pistol, or is it as rugged as its good looks?
--------------------------------------------
Someone please sell me a Rohrbaugh!
SAE La Rho, Phi Alpha 265911
F & A.M. Lodge 62
USAWOA

ccoorreeyy

Re: Strange question for ya'll
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2008, 12:32:43 PM »
Welcome KiowaScout!

I don't know how well they would take sand, I would guess that it would not like it.  I do know that I carry mine daily and clean it every weekend.  I don't know if I would have to clean it every week, but I am a land surveyor and it does get fairly dusty/dirty.  I usually shoot the mag full before I clean it and have not had any problems to date.  

How much sand are we talking about?  What do you do for a living?  If your a sandblaster or a beach lifeguard or somthing with that much sand you may need to get a Glock.

Corey

Offline tak

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2008, 12:57:41 PM »
Hi KiowaScout,
I live in the New Mexico and have been carrying my R9s 24/7 for 2 1/2 years.  We have a lot of dust, sand and heat here.  I fire it  about once a month and clean it afterwards.  I love my R9s as it is the only weapon I can carry while wearing just shorts and  a tee shirt.    Tak

Offline theirishguard

• Grand Master
  • In Memoriam: 1941 to 2013
    • irishguardfirearmsltd.com
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2008, 01:04:13 PM »
welcome, the pup should do well except "over there" see New Mexico post. Tom