Author Topic: An Embarrassing Topic, but...  (Read 5103 times)

Online cargaritaville

• Grand Master
An Embarrassing Topic, but...
« on: February 23, 2015, 10:58:26 PM »
I am going to share this embarrassing incident that happened to me recently in the hopes that it might save someone's life someday.  I have a rule  in my home that I never deviate from. It is that, except for my carry gun, I never never ever have a loaded gun where I store my guns in the house. I never break that rule. I recently purchased a new Sig 1911 Ultra .45. A magnificent gun. When I picked it up from my FFL friend, he gave me a magazine with Sigs new custom ammo in it to try out. I placed it back in the case and took it home. I have a rule that when I pick up a gun from my collection, I always release the magazine first, then I clear the firearm twice. I then handle it. I have been doing this faithfully for 30 years. A few weeks ago, I went to inspect my new Sig. I took it out of the case to admire it. The doorbell rang and I answered the door. I returned to my office about 15 minutes later. I decided that I wanted to feel the trigger pull. I picked up the Sig and aimed it toward the large windows with Key West shutters on them. I gently squeezed the trigger and BOOM!!!!! Loud is an understatement. My initial reaction was WTF? I then looked all over myself for any blood...none. I looked all over for where the bullet went...no sign. By then my screaming and crying wife was all over me. When she saw that I was not hurt, I saw a look on her face that I have never seen on her in over 34 years of being with her. She thought that she had lost me. I went outside and saw a huge hole in the double paned window about 3 inches  perfectly round. My backyard is private, wooded, and overlooks a preserve. Nothing around thank God. I went inside and found a small hole in front of where I was sitting in the shutter. I felt like an idiot. I let my wife down with shattering her security blanket. I let myself