Author Topic: Side arm for Africa  (Read 9969 times)

Offline Aglifter

• Grand Master
  • Thanks and Gig 'em
Side arm for Africa
« on: September 16, 2005, 01:32:05 AM »
I may be heading to Zambia this winter to hunt birds -- so I need a sidearm -- I'm thinking about the scandium S&W 44 mag, but I'd like suggestions.

Thanks
And for the support of this Declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes and our sacred Honor.

Offline flyandscuba

• Master
  • Ivan, Dennis, and Katrina - enough is enough!
Re: Side arm for Africa
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2005, 10:27:54 AM »
The 4" S&W 500... :o

« Last Edit: September 16, 2005, 10:29:01 AM by flyandscuba »
I'm not a gun expert -- but I did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night...

Offline Michigunner

• Grand Master
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2005, 10:44:28 AM »
I like that picture showing the explosion.

That has to be a true Africa sidearm.

My friend has one and has invited me to shoot it.  He said the recoil was not bad.  I respectfully declined.

Bill

Offline flyandscuba

• Master
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2005, 11:10:46 AM »
I have the 10.5 Hunter from the Performance Center.  It really gives you more of a "push" than a kick.  I've used the 350gr Hornady loads almost exclusively.  The guys that push the 440gr hardcast lead stuff down the tube are nuts!

I've thought about picking up the 4" model and the nice leather holster and belt made by DeSantis -- but I can't justify it, as my time in Alaska is very limited.

Offline Aglifter

• Grand Master
  • Thanks and Gig 'em
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2005, 12:03:19 PM »