Author Topic: Second Strike Capability - Is It Necessary?  (Read 2358 times)

Offline sslater

• Master
Second Strike Capability - Is It Necessary?
« on: September 11, 2005, 12:53:03 PM »
I've been participating in this forum for several months and have noticed that many of the members are VERY experienced "concealed carriers".  Not surprising considering the R9 is one of the best carry guns ever produced.

My question:  How do you feel about the need for second strike capability in a carry gun?  

I consider second strike a key necessity in a carry gun.  But I've been told by several "certified" firearms trainers that good training makes second strike capability a minor feature. "If you train properly and frequently, you will automatically do a Tap-Rack-Bang drill in the case of a failure to fire."

My response to them has been, "Wrong!  Even the best-drilled shooter is liable to pull the trigger a second time in a life-or-death situation because that's the natural reaction.  Then a well-trained guy will run whatever F-T-F drill he's been trained to do."

Apparently, the Rohrbaugh team agrees with me because the R9 will restrike with each pull of the trigger.  And what a smooth trigger it is!  Best of any pistol I've owned.  

I suppose if I was a professional firearms trainer I would get enough live-fire practice to automatically Tap-Rack-Bang in the event of a misfire.  But I can't practice that much.  Each trip to the range is a 40 minute drive each way, $12 - $15 / hour of range time, lots of $$ for ammo and supplies, etc.  
Dry Fire practice at home is great for trigger control, but probably reinforces the instinctive restrike reflex in case of a real failure.  Last spring I sprung :) for a Beamhit 190 Pesonal Marksmanship Training System.  Great fun, good marksmanship practice, but not live fire so not useful for F-T-F drills.  

sslater

Offline theirishguard

• Grand Master
  • In Memoriam: 1941 to 2013
    • irishguardfirearmsltd.com