Author Topic: Would this solve the screw problem?  (Read 4629 times)

Offline CNO53

• Expert
Would this solve the screw problem?
« on: August 03, 2007, 11:57:55 PM »
I'm not an engineer, but I do have a question...

We're having to tighten our "RIGHT HAND" grip screws after every 50 rounds. The screws tighten by turning clock wise. When the gun is fired the recoil is to the rear or counter clockwise, thus loosening the screws.
If the "RIGHT HAND" grip screws were reversed threaded so they tighten counter clockwise, would they not tighten themselves when the gun is fired, (same as the left hand grip screws)  
Just curious...
« Last Edit: August 04, 2007, 01:31:31 AM by CNO53 »

Perception...Reality...?

Offline Richard S

• Grand Master
  • Nemo me impune lacessit.
A refRe: Would this solve the screw problem?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2007, 08:49:59 PM »
Now that's an interesting concept. Reverse (counter) threaded screws might indeed be less likely to work loose on the right grip panel. But then I'm no engineer either.

All right, you engineering types out there -- what's the answer?
(1963-1967) "GO ARMY!"

Offline sslater

• Master
Re: Would this solve the screw problem?
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2007, 10:38:39 PM »
Well, I'm a retired mechanical engineer.  My work experience was primarily with engine components.
A little background on fasteners:
The main objective with fasteners is to assure the bolt or screw (or stud / nut) is stretched enough to always provide a positive clamping load on whatever it is holding together.