Author Topic: A Big Thanks!  (Read 2846 times)

Offline Wayne

• Expert
A Big Thanks!
« on: February 13, 2005, 11:48:00 PM »
Until today, I have been a "lurker" here on the site, probably since last October when I first found out about the R9 in American Handgunner.

I am by no means an expert on handguns, but I know that I have benefitted immeasureably by the excellent information and perspective that you fine people have shared on this forum.  It is in this spirit of sharing that I would like to share my Rohrbaugh experience with all of you.

My R9 arrived at my FFL holder on Friday at 11:02AM.  At 11:48AM, I was there, opening the FedEx package, and most likely, standing in a pool of my own drool.  I don't rember exactly what I was doing at the office when I decided "it would keep 'till Monday", but I know I was smiling during the drive! ;D

When I finally got to actually hold the "new addition", I couldn't believe how it was put together, so precise, so tight, so well made.  Now I have read some of the same comments from others on this site, but those words just don't do it justice.  Those of you who have these technical marvels on order are really in for a treat!  Like you first love, or your first day of school, you will remember the first time you held your very own!

Upon inspecting my new R9S, I noticed the slide stamp indicated "R9", not "R9S" (yes, it has sights).  Not knowing why this was the case, I dropped Eric an email at 4:30PM.  When I re-checked my e-mail later that night, Eric had responded and asked for a phone number.  This was on a Friday night.  Saturday at 10:00AM, Eric called me at my home to talk to me about my question! :D

Again, I'm not a firearms expert, not a gun magazine writer, I'm not a media consultant.  Heck, at times, I'm not even influential in my own family  ;).  Nonetheless, here was a guy that took the time to call a "regular guy" customer (on a Saturday even) and offer up his time.