Author Topic: Computer question  (Read 1439 times)

Offline Jack_F

• Grand Master
Computer question
« on: August 25, 2013, 07:44:14 AM »
I'm getting tired of fighting the Windows PC system and thinking about switching to Mac system have many forum members felt the same way? Do you like Apple products?  Thanks for any info...Jack
NRA Life Member
NRA Certified instructor: Pistol,Rifle,Shotgun ,Muzzleloading-Pistol-Rifle-Shotgun,Personal Protection In The Home, Personal Protection Outside The home,Home Firearm Safety

Offline dddonkey

• Expert
  • Forum Contributor
Re: Computer question
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2013, 10:23:38 AM »
I did the same last April, and love it. The only issue that I had was I need windows for work so I run a program called Parrelles and run a virtual windows desk top. I believe that it is the best of both world, and it seems that most windows stuff runs better because of the 'clean' install and no B.S. in there. I am not a computer expert but I can figure it out. There is a learning curve for MAC, but the Apple store will teach you for free. The biggest problem I had was the price tag of the MAC, I could buy 4 pc's for the price of my MAC.

Offline Richard S

• Grand Master
  • Nemo me impune lacessit.
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2013, 10:30:51 AM »
I was dragged into the 21st Century world of the Apple iPhone by my wife and daughter and am increasingly impressed by the varied capabilities of that little device even though mine is only a basic "4" model.  For word processing, though, I still prefer a PC to a Mac -- just as long as the PC doesn't have Windows 8 installed.  Microsoft has hung so many extraneous "bells and whistles" on Windows 8 that I find it a pain in the backside to use.  I'm purchasing one of the few new PCs still available that come with Windows 7.