Author Topic: R9 Ammunition  (Read 16858 times)

Offline MurrayNevada

• Expert
R9 Ammunition
« on: May 21, 2004, 10:03:46 PM »
What are you guys having success feeding your R9?

Offline flyandscuba

• Master
  • Ivan, Dennis, and Katrina - enough is enough!
Re: R9 Ammunition
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2004, 02:46:10 AM »
Great question!  I'd like to hear range reports ASAP from those lucky enough to have theirs.

I suspect, the lighter bullets will be preferable??  I was thinking about using the Pow'Rball load (100gr, 1475fps, 483 ft/lbs - from test barrel).  Not sure what it'll do out of the short R-9 barrel, but I think the polymer ball will aid in HP expansion.
I'm not a gun expert -- but I did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night...

Offline MurrayNevada

• Expert
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2004, 10:31:08 AM »
Isn't the Pow-R-Ball ammo from Cor-Bon a +P load.  I'm not sure Rohrbaugh recommends using +P ammo.

Offline flyandscuba

• Master
  • Ivan, Dennis, and Katrina - enough is enough!
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2004, 12:39:58 PM »
Yes, it is.  I was thinking of carrying it as a defensive round.  Fire a couple to see how it does in the R-9 and put the rest in the magazine for defensive use.

General plinking (which will not be frequent), I'll most likely use the Winchester Valu-pak from Walmart.

A reloader could always pull a few of the Pow'Rball bullets and reload them at standard pressures.  Hey, that would be a great FS item here on the forum! ;D
I'm not a gun expert -- but I did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night...

Offline GeorgeH

• Master
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2004, 06:02:22 PM »
RBCD and MagSafe Defender cartridges are both standard pressure.

Offline R9SCarry

• Grand Master
  • Aut viam inveniam aut faciam
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2004, 01:11:52 PM »