Author Topic: New potential Rohrbaugh owner - question on S/N & production runs  (Read 8388 times)

Offline Volvofan

Greetings, all!

I am a long-time gun operator, and have owned a couple pistols for over a decade, though neither are particularly suited for concealed carry (both are full frame .45 ACPs).  Now starting to look for something I can carry nearly everywhere... won't bother "preaching to the converted" on this forum about why I think the Rohrbaugh might be a good choice for that.  Just got the wife a Ruger LCR in 9mm, which sweetens the deal due to ammo commonality.  I'm eyeing a gun for sale near me with a serial number in the R5000+ range.  Black on black with two sets of grips (no CF, unfortunately), two mags, case, manual, and sights. 

1)  What is market price if it is in very good condition cosmetically and mechanically (<100 rounds through it)? 
2)  Anything I should be looking out for regarding that production serial number (i.e. known problems for particular S/N ranges)?
3)  How many Rohrbaughs were made in total (ballpark?) 

Thanks in advance for the help!

-Jon 
« Last Edit: January 19, 2016, 01:07:50 PM by Volvofan »

Offline johnny

• Master
Re: New potential Rohrbaugh owner - question on S/N & production runs
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2016, 05:54:46 PM »
  Hi,
 Welcome.My R9's serial number is in the 5200 range.I have had no issues and if I recall,I don't think the guns in that number range had problems.I could be wrong thou.I don't recall ever reading anything here on the forum to that effect.
             Other members may chime in with more info.

Offline Volvofan

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2016, 05:56:05 PM »
Thanks for the quick reply, Johnny!  I'll stay tuned to see if others have any feedback.

Also, found my answer to question #3 in the "How many Pups are out there?" thread.

-Jon

Offline johnny

• Master
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2016, 05:58:14 PM »
  I'm guessing around 8 to 9 thousand.Am I close?

Offline johnny

• Master