Author Topic: Rohrbaugh Ammo  (Read 9956 times)

Offline flyandscuba

• Master
  • Ivan, Dennis, and Katrina - enough is enough!
Rohrbaugh Ammo
« on: May 22, 2004, 04:03:49 PM »
From the range report in another thread, it appears the velocities and energies of firing standard 9mm ammunition out of this short barrel doesn't provide much benefit over what the .380 is doing in the P-3AT.

I'm thinking we need to find and solicit an innovative ammo producer to work up a "Rohrbaugh load" that would utilize a light bullet at standard pressures -- but high velocity -- to generate the most effectiveness out of this new pistol.

Any ideas?
« Last Edit: May 22, 2004, 04:04:34 PM by flyandscuba »
I'm not a gun expert -- but I did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night...

Offline GeorgeH

• Master
Re: Rohrbaugh Ammo
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2004, 11:55:55 PM »
RBCD civilian ammo is all standard pressure. Magsafe Defender rounds are standard pressure also.

I know that there a very emotional debate over these exotics, but I think that I will use RBCD as my carry ammo.

Offline Mr_Jody_Hudson

• Expert
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2004, 12:07:28 AM »
I will be testing a LOT of different ammo in mine.

I've "had" mine for a few weeks now but it is still in my dealer's showcase, as a favor, to let him show it off to the regulars, etc.

I will likely use Winchester White Box or S&B or PMC.  These are the ones that shoot most accurately so far...  

However a lot will depend upon what the chrono says.

I learned a LOT from www.AmmoLab.com and I plan to not use anything other than fmj at this point.

However, I'd love to have some special Rohrbaugh ammo loaded for us here.  That could be a very interesting feature of this forum, and a major traffic builder for these forums.