Author Topic: Why Is The Rohrbaugh Still So Rare?    (Read 9360 times)

Offline Alphonso

• Expert
Why Is The Rohrbaugh Still So Rare?  
« on: December 18, 2010, 01:44:49 AM »
I've been carrying my R9 for close to three years.  I know many of you have had yours for longer.   Still, almost no one I speak to knows about the Rohrbaugh.   Friends, shooters, and gun shop clerks mostly draw a blank when I mention it.  

My question:  Is the Rohrbaugh "rare" simply because of its (sort of) high price, or for some other reason?

I'd think that a revolutionary pistol with unparalleled specs and attributes would have swept the CCW world by now.  

Your thoughts?  
**We Don't Rent Pigs***

Offline kjtrains

• Grand Master
Re: Why Is The Rohrbaugh Still So Rare?  
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2010, 08:56:01 AM »
My thought is, there have been only a little over 5,000 made since day one of producton, and advertising is not that extensive, so not everyone hears about the Rohrbaugh.  

Nearly two years ago, my home town dealer didn't know what a Rohrbaugh was either.  He does now.  
Let us have faith that right makes might, and in that faith, let us, to the end, dare to do our duty as we understand it.  Abraham Lincoln

Offline yankee2500

• Grand Master
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2010, 08:58:57 AM »
  I think it's a combination of things, availability (only five thousand 9mm made in six years) marketing and price. Pick up any gun magazine and you see ads for Ruger, S&W, Baretta and every other mass produced guns (and some custom makes). I can't remember ever seeing an ad for the Rohrbaugh.
  I think if Rohrbaugh did an advertising campaign they would not be able to keep up with the demand.

John
"THE KING OF BATTLE"

"Cha togar m' fhearg gun dìoladh"

"The beauty of the second amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it."
Thomas Jefferson

Offline kjtrains

• Grand Master
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2010, 09:11:32 AM »