Author Topic: Considering buying - Couple of questions  (Read 2362 times)

Offline gilraen

Considering buying - Couple of questions
« on: July 09, 2008, 06:11:20 PM »
Hi all, newbie here.

I'm seriously looking at the R9 as a carry weapon, but have a few questions.

First of all, I'm a middle aged woman, apple-shaped, with sort of short stubby fingers.  I expect to get my CHL in October (Texas waiting time is about 120 days!)

I had a Bersa Thunder 9mm that I liked, but which was too big for my hands.  Gave it to my son.  I now have a Sig P239 9mm, which I adore.  But it's a bit too big and heavy to carry very well. :(  I also have test fired several other guns and found most of them too big for my hands.  The P239 was a wonderful exception.

After spending quite a lot of time doing online research and comparisons of stats, my top pick is the R9.  BUT...

I live in Houston, and there are NO dealers here, per the Rohrbaugh website.  Dallas is 7 hours away.  I haven't found one to even hold, let alone test fire.  After my Bersa mistake, I really hate to spend $1100 on a gun that I can't even hold first.

1)  Does anyone know what the circumference on a R9 9mm is? (Meaning from the back of the grip where the web of the hand goes, around the front of the trigger, and back to the starting point.) The website doesn't say.  
2) What is its width?  Website doesn't say.
3) I worry that the short grip will interfere with my ability to control the recoil.  I've seen a couple of comments about GF or wife being able to shoot it, but....I still have concerns.
4) I wonder if there is anyone here who lives in Houston or surrounding towns, who would be kind enough to let me test fire theirs?  I promise I won't hurt it.   ;D

(I'm assuming R9's are in short supply, due to the Am. Handgunner article, and I hope to avoid calling umpteen-hundred gun shops in the hopes of finding one before it's sold.)

Can anyone help me?