Author Topic: R9s vs. R380s  (Read 5314 times)

Offline dmunofo

• Sharpshooter
  • 1 year Rohrbaugh owner
R9s vs. R380s
« on: May 15, 2012, 12:45:04 PM »
Sorry for the repost, but it seems like more guys here visit the R9 more often......

Hey Everyone,

Just joined the forum and looking for some comparisons.  I am a police officer out in NJ and was looking for a reliable, and concealable off duty firearm to carry in the summer.  While I was originally considering the R9s, I have toyed with the idea of stepping down into the R380s. Here are some of  the reasons....

1.  Have to qualify 2x year with running minimally 100 rounds per qualification (60 day, 40 night).  Possible fatigue from the extra recoil using the 9mm vs. the 380.  Also, I have to shoot from 25 yards out.   I have heard that the 380 is easier to control at further distances, esp. with those small sights.

2.  This will be the first gun my wife will ever shoot, and will be the kept home gun while I am at work.  My off duty is an HK Compact .45, but that I use while in uniform going back and forth to work, as well as on duty for road details.  Needless to say, I think the .380 will be more manageable for her to practice with, as well as fire under a real life stress situation (GOD FORBID!!).

3.  With qualifications, and running a separate combat course, I would assume that the 9mm would generate more heat than the 380, and don't want to overstress the gun getting it too hot without a cool down period, that this gun apparently requires.