Author Topic: VZs on a compact .45 and R9  (Read 2020 times)

Offline AmmoToad

• Master
  • The Toad
VZs on a compact .45 and R9
« on: December 17, 2011, 11:50:21 PM »
Order from VZ grips arrived today.  One set of black dessert sand for a compact .45 and one set of carbon fiber for the R9. 

The ones on the .45 are the Elite Tactical Carry slim lines with the mag release thumb notch.  When changing from standard grips to slim lines, one must also replace the bushings.  I also put the o-rings onto the turbo screws.  Removing the original bushings was a bit of a pain.

Moving on to the R9…once removing the right grip panel, I was real disappointed to see just how easy it would be for this gun to fail completely if the right grip came loose.  I’m no engineer, but I would think for the cost of these guns, a better method of retaining the spring would be devised.  In fact, it honestly has me questioning if I want to continue carrying this gun as a primary.   Anyway, that’s another story.  I got the grips on and am pleased with the look.

Took a picture that I think captures the difference in the factory grip and the VZ on the R9.  The VZ has more of a taper and is a bit thinner…overall, it does feel better in the hand.  I’ll know better once I get to the range again.

So there ya have it friends…got both guns gripped and in the process eliminated a few excess beers that were taking up space in the fridge….oh, and I must note, before opening the first beer, I emptied both weapons, checked chambers twice, and moved the ammo and loaded magazines to a whole separate side of the house.  No need to take chances.  My boss recently told me a story where his brother-in-law shot his headboard with an “empty” gun just a few weeks ago.
American Warrior
NRA Life
Ammo Troop

Offline yankee2500

• Grand Master
Re: VZs on a compact .45 and R9
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2011, 12:19:46 AM »
Toad, thats a fine looking pair of guns, I like the grips on both.
"THE KING OF BATTLE"