Author Topic: Skyy CPX-1  (Read 18930 times)

Offline Fud

• Master
Skyy CPX-1
« on: December 11, 2005, 01:52:32 AM »
Anybody know anything about the Skyy CPX-1

?

Offline flyandscuba

• Master
  • Ivan, Dennis, and Katrina - enough is enough!
Re: Skyy CPX-1
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2005, 07:14:32 AM »
It's a knock-off of the Kel-tec P-11.  Like the Cobra and one or two other attempts to copy George Kelgren's success, I doubt much will come of it.
I'm not a gun expert -- but I did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night...

Offline Fud

• Master
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2005, 10:18:51 AM »
Seems to have some improvements over the P-11 ... has a repeat striker capability and a manual safety.

Offline eblackhawk

• Sharpshooter
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2005, 02:30:55 PM »
I must admit that I have never heard of it but I must admit it looks good and the price point is tempting...

Offline tracker

• Grand Master
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2005, 04:34:36 PM »
The company seems to be proud of it; of course, I guess
they all are at first.

Offline flyandscuba

• Master
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2005, 07:35:25 PM »
Seems to have some improvements over the P-11 ... has a repeat striker capability and a manual safety.

The KT P-11 and P-40/P-357 have a repeat striker capability. It is the P-32 and P-3AT that do not.  In a DAO pistol with a long trigger pull, I see no need for a manual safety -- just one more thing to get in the way (and something to remember to take "off" when the self defense situation arises).

The Skyy uses a propriatary magazine (a 9-round one -- rather than KT's now available 12-rounder), therefore the S&W 59 series magazines will not work in the gun -- neither will the KT magazines.

I see it as no improvement... :P  Just someone's attempt to cash in on another's success.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2005, 07:37:17 PM by flyandscuba »

Offline Fud

• Master
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2005, 08:24:53 PM »